Board Members
Share |

President- Mark L. Graber, MD, FACP
Dr. Graber is a Senior Fellow at RTI International and Professor Emeritus of Medicine at the State University of New York at Stony Brook. He has an extensive background in biomedical and health services research, with over 70 peer-reviewed publications. He is a national leader in the field of patient safety and originated Patient Safety Awareness Week in 2002, an event now recognized internationally. Dr. Graber has also been a pioneer in efforts to address diagnostic errors in medicine, and his research in this area has been supported by the National Patient Safety Foundation and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.In 2008 he convened and chaired the first Diagnostic Error in Medicine conference. In 2011 he founded the new Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine and serves as President of SIDM.


President-Elect - David E. Newman-Toker MD, PhD
Dr. Newman-Toker is Professor of Neurology, Ophthalmology, & Otolaryngology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He serves as Director of the Division of Neuro-Visual & Vestibular Disorders in the Department of Neurology and Director of the Armstrong Institute Center for Diagnostic Excellence. His training is in Neurology, Neuro-ophthalmology, Neuro-otology, and Clinical Investigation. Dr. Newman-Toker’s clinical interest is in diagnosis of acute disorders affecting the brainstem and cranial nerves, including stroke. His research mission is to achieve better outcomes through better diagnosis. He has published more than 90 peer-reviewed journal articles and given more than 170 invited lectures, most on diagnosis of dizziness and diagnostic errors. He co-chaired the Diagnostic Error Conferences in 2010, 2011 and 2012, served as the inaugural chairman of the SIDM Research Committee, and currently serves as the chairman of the SIDM Policy Committee.

Secretary- Ruth Ryan RN, BSN, MSW
Ruth Ryan earned a BA and MSW from the University of Michigan. She graduated summa cum laude from San Francisco State University with a BSN. After various clinical positions as a Registered Nurse, she worked in Quality Management and Performance Improvement roles. She was a longtime Board member of the New Orleans Association for Healthcare Quality (NOAHQ). For the past 10 years she worked for LAMMICO’s Risk Management Department, building much of the online continuing medical education program that enabled the launch of Medical Interactive. She is now a consulting medical writer and editor.


Treasurer- Edward Hoffer, MD
Edward Hoffer is Associate Professor of Medicine, part-time, at Harvard Medical School and an Assistant Director of the Mass General Hospital Laboratory of Computer Science. He has a BS from MIT and MD from Harvard and did his residency and fellowship at the Mass General Hospital in Boston. He has combined clinical practice with research in computer-assisted decision support in medicine. He was a member of the team that developed DXplain and is still actively involved in its development, He is a Fellow of the American College of Medicine, the American College of Cardiology and the American College of Medical Informatics.
Director- Timothy J. Mosher, MD
Dr. Mosher is the Kenneth L. Miller Chair of Radiology and Distinguished Professor of Radiology and Orthopedic Surgery at the Penn State University College of Medicine. Dr. Mosher has published over 60 manuscripts with the majority in the area of musculoskeletal imaging, quantitative cartilage imaging, and MRI technical development. Dr. Mosher is a fellow of the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine. He served as Deputy Editor for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine, Osteoarthritis and Cartilage, and is currently an Associate Editor for the journal Radiology. He is a frequent NIH study section reviewer and served on the Scientific Advisory Board for the Canadian Arthritis Network.


Director- David L Meyers, MD, FACEP
Dr. Meyers is an emergency physician and former Chair of Emergency Medicine at Sinai Hospital in Baltimore. He has also served as Chief of the Medical Practice Division at EmCare, Inc., a large national physician practice management company where he was responsible for the risk and claims management and professional liability insurance programs for more than 7,500 clinicians and 6 million annual ED visits. He led the development and implementation of a number of successful initiatives to reduce diagnostic errors in high risk, high frequency conditions. He is active in the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) where he chaired the first Patient Safety Task Force and the Quality Improvement and Patient Safety (QIPS) Section where he continues as a member of the leadership group.


Director- Art Papier MD
Dr. Papier is CEO of VisualDx, a healthcare technology company dedicated to improving diagnosis, point of care decision-making and patient engagement. Dr. Papier is also Associate Professor in Dermatology and Medical Informatics at the University of Rochester School of Medicine, and conducts research in diagnostic errors with particular interest in the misdiagnosis and inappropriate therapy around soft tissue infections. He was principal investigator of a project to create a standardized lexicon for the field of dermatology, under the auspices of the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases. A graduate of Wesleyan University, Dr. Papier completed his premed studies at Columbia University, received his MD from the University of Vermont College of Medicine, and completed his graduate medical training in dermatology at the University of Rochester Medical Center.

Director- Dana Siegal, RN, CPHRM, CPPS
Dana Siegal is the Director of Patient Safety for RMF Strategies, a division of The Risk Management Foundation of the Harvard Medical Institutions. She provides leadership to the Comparative Benchmark System (CBS), a database of more than 350,000 MPL claims from a national landscape of academic and community organizations. She provides analytical and educational services on patient safety to academic medical centers, community hospitals, and physician practices with an emphasis on diagnostic-related claims, OB, EHR and Emergency Medicine. Prior to her current role, Ms. Siegal had 15 years of clinical nursing leadership roles in Emergency Medicine, and 20 in healthcare quality and hospital risk management. She has extensive experience in the analysis of provider performance data, adverse and sentinel event management, apology and disclosure, physician peer review, and litigation preparation and support. She currently serves on the planning committees for HIF (Hospital Insurance Forum) ASHRM (American Society for Healthcare Risk Managers) and on the Editorial Board for the ASHRM journal.


Chief Executive Officer - Paul L. Epner MBA, MEd (Ex-officio)
Paul L. Epner, MBA, is the Chief Executive Officer and co-founder of the Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine (SIDM). He is also the Chair of the Coalition to Improve Diagnosis, a multi-organization collaboration. Paul is a Past President of the Clinical Laboratory Management Association (CLMA) where he also created the Increasing Clinical Effectiveness (ICE) initiative. He is a member of the CDC’s “Clinical Laboratory Integration into Healthcare Collaborative,” a consultant to their Laboratory Medicine Best Practices program (an evidence-based practice initiative), and Chair of the Coordinating Council on the Clinical Laboratory Workforce’s (CCCLW) Taskforce on Measuring Testing-Related Value.



Society to Improve
Diagnosis in Medicine
1501 Hinman Ave, #7B
Evanston, Il 60201